Contact Information

District Homeless Liaison:

Nikky Holton - 989-466-7511 nholton@almaschools.net

High School:

Georgia Guiett - 989-463-3111 gguiett@almaschools.net

DLP Middle School:

Brittany Monroe - 989-466-7604 bmonroe@almaschools.net

Pine Ave. Elementary:

Carrie Bailey - 989-466-7651 cbailey@almaschools.net

Hillcrest Elementary:

Naomi Snider - 989-463-3113 nsnider@almaschools.net

Luce Road ECLC:

Roxann Harrington - 989-463-1012 rharrington@almaschools.net

Homeless/McKinney-Vento Act

Alma Public Schools is committed to helping our students who are experiencing transitional housing situations through the McKinney-Vento Homeless Assistance Act. Each public school district and academy has a homeless liaison who assists with enrollment, academic support, and ongoing needs. 

If your family lacks a fixed, regular, and/or adequate nighttime residence due to a loss of housing or economic hardship, your child might be eligible for certain education rights and services.

Your Rights Under the McKinney-Vento Act:

  • Attend either the local school or the school of origin, if this is in their best interest; the school of origin is the school the child attended when he/she was permanently housed or the school in which the child was last enrolled.

  • Enroll in school immediately, even if missing records and documents normally required for enrollment, such as birth certificate, proof of residence, previous school records, or immunization/medical records.

  • Enroll, attend classes, and participate fully in all school activities while the school gathers records.

  • Have access to the same programs and services that are available to all other students, including transportation and supplemental educational services.

  • Attend school with children not experiencing transitional housing; a school cannot segregate a student

View the full text of the McKinney-Vento Homeless Assistance Act